~1~ PC Slater

A few months following my move to Ontario, I had enough of “country living”! My aunt was gracious enough to let me move in with her for the first little while. Once I had a job and a better sense of myself, I started looking for a new place to live. Friends of my aunt knew this lady: police constable Slater. Single, born and raised in Montreal, trustworthy, etc.  She used to take borders in her cute little bungalow. She didn’t particularly like the company, in fact she preferred having flight attendants who were never home. Her last border left a bitter taste and she vowed to never have another one. Until I came along!!

I stood on her front porch, the first time I met her, 18, shy, barely speaking English. She was scary! She stood tall, thin with very strong features and a dry sense of humor which I did not understand at all. I’m convinced she was coerced in to taking this poor little French girl under her roof.

So, I moved in! My grandma came all the way from my home town, took me to Ikea and made it her mission to make my small little room, home. It was good. I had one friend who lived nearby and spent a lot of time with her, the rest of the time I worked ridiculous hours at the airport. I wasn’t home much which please the lady of the house. I can’t remember being particularly “happy” but it was good!

PC Slater and I kept our distance. She worked shifts, when on nights, she slept during the day and when on days, she liked to relax in her basement. I never joined her. I think I was scared of her most of that year! I did however discover a sweetness and authenticity about her. She took me to her friends for parties or holidays like Christmas.

After a year, I moved on. She and I were both ready. I never thought I would see her again. I was wrong!

About a year after that, I went to China! When the escapade was over, she offered to pick me up from the airport. At that point, in an unspoken fashion, we had become friends. Not much was said about it but it was clear. It was forever!

Over the years, the tall, thin police constable softened up. Her circle of friends, whom I met from the very beginning are now part of my life as well! PC Slater has called me her “daughter” for a few years now. She has watched me meet my husband and marry him. She was the first visitor in the hospital after my son was born. She has brought me Gatorade when I have been bed ridden with the stomach flu. I took her soup when she has had strep! I stayed with her after carpel tunnel surgery and performed nursing duties when the stitches came apart. That is what friends do!

Over the last 12 years, I have discovered a very quiet and reserved woman to be one of the most caring, reliable and true friend a girl can have. My first impression of her could not have been more wrong.

Most recently, I spent the night on her couch when she was sticken with grief. Her beloved daddy passed away just 9 days after her mom succumbed a pneumonia. I found myself in a room full of grown women falling apart with grief. I served them brandy and made coffee.

It amazes me how quickly the roles have changed. I am a wife and mother and they no longer see me as the little French girl who needs rescuing. I am part of their tight knit circle. I am one of these amazing women with scarred pasts and happy stories.

I felt PC Slater was the perfect woman to begin the “Remarkable Women Series”. She has been a big part of my life from the very beginning of my journey. I owe her part of who I am now.

To this day, she yells at me to stop apologizing all the time. I laugh it off.

She is a remarkable woman, friend and human being.

We have an understanding that I will, one day, choose her nursing home and take care of her. I don’t look forward to her aging, but I do look forward to giving her back what I have received from her.

Love you A.M.S!!

Mélanie

One thought on “~1~ PC Slater

Leave a comment